OBD l scanner for 1997 F-250HD (OBS) where to find one

Discussion in '1992 - 1996 Ford F150, F250 and F350 Truck Forum' started by Ish, Apr 20, 2018.

< Previous Thread | Next Thread >
  1. Ish

Looking for a scanner that fits my 97 (OBS) F-250HD. I have a scanner that fits 81-95, however, the 95 DOES NOT fit my 97, duh!. I "thought" most of these OBS from 92-97 are the same, they aren't, specifically for 97 that has the 460 in it. My truck is an OBD l scanner. Everyone says OBD ll was used on 96 +, EXCEPT for 97 with the old body style. Bottom line is I can't find a scanner that fits my 97 with OBD l connection, where do I find one without breaking the bank?, I'm a novice at this so hang in there with me!!!!!!

Tags:
  2. JWC 3 TOTM Winner Founding Member

I have an otc. scanner I bought about 2000 or so. ... it works on them . You might find an older scanner at a pawn shop or on eBay. ...
    Just a thought. .....

3. Ish

Ok, thanks!!!!

4. Ish

Ok, thanks!!!!

5. FTZ HAIC Staff Member Oregon Chapter Founding Member

6. JWC 3 TOTM Winner Founding Member

Good advice. But that won't give you live data.

7. Seabiscuit Volunteer Moderator Vet Zone Vet Zone Leader Oregon Chapter Founding Member

Sorry I didn't see this sooner.

I have been told many times by different Ford and non Ford Techs that 1996 was the first year for ODBII ports on our rigs and the first "crossover" year for the programming.

You should have an ODB II port just to the right of center under the dash. I have a Scan Gauge II plugged into mine and it as well as the computer IS NOT fully compliant with OBD II. I've never checked further to find out what type of "personal garage" scanner in an affordable range would cover the 96 era computer. I do not know what implementations were made by Ford between the 96 and 97 Model Years.